### Canadian Public Relations Society Northern Lights 2017 Annual General Meeting Minutes

# Regional District of Fraser Fort George offices, Prince George June 22, 2017

 Call to Order and Attendance – President Matt Wood at 4:37pm
In attendance: Matt Wood, Eryn Collins, Chandra Matlock, Annie Doran, Kevin Brown, Renee McCloskey, Christina Doll, Susan Clarke
Attended via conference call: Emily Epp, Simone Blais

2. Call for New Business – None raised

### 3. Approval of meeting minutes from 2016 AGM Moved by Kevin Brown, seconded by Renee McCloskey.

4. **President and Chairs' Reports** – Matt Wood reviewed President's report. Highlights included acknowledgment of Cam McAlpine and the conference committee's efforts in hosting an excellent CPRS National Conference in Kelowna in 2017, the addition to the College of Fellows of member Renee McCloskey, the Small Town PR Playbook spearheaded by Joel McKay, the maturing of our chapter, and the excellent slate of nominees for the 2017/2018 board of directors, with many new people volunteering. Remainder of Chair's Reports were presented for reading (and had been posted in CPRS NL private Facebook group earlier in the day).

CARRIED

Moved by Christina Doll to accept Board reports, seconded by Annie Doran CARRIED

5. **Financial Review and Audit Waiver** – Treasurer Susan Clarke reviewed the Financial Statements for the year of May 1, 2016 to April 30, 2016 with the attendees. Renee McCloskey mentioned that a large honorarium should be coming from CPRS National for our chapter hosting the national conference. This was new information to the Treasurer (but will not affect the financial year just reported upon).

# Moved by Renee McCloskey to approve the 2016/2017 Financial Statements, seconded by Eryn Collins CARRIED

Moved by Emily Epp to waive audit for 2017, seconded by Annie Doran CARRIED

6. **2017/2018 Board Appointments and Election** – The Nomination Committee, lead by Christina Doll, presented the slate of nominees. Full details can be found in Nomination Committee report:

### Voting took place by ballot, and advance and day-of ballots were counted.

Election Results: CPRS NL 2017/2018 Board of Directors:

President	Christina Doll, Workforce Development Officer, City of Prince George
Vice President	Susan Clarke
Treasurer	Susan Clarke
Communications Co-Chairs (2 positions)	
	Shelly Burich, APR, Principal, Mangrove Bight Group Public Relations
	Emily Epp, Manager of Communications, Cariboo Regional District
Membership Chair	Annie Doran, Manager, Marketing & Communications, Tourism PG
Accreditation Chair	Sarah Zimmerman, APR, Director of Communications & Public Relations,
	Northwest Community College
Pro-D Co-Chairs (2 positions)	
	Andrea Palmer, Reg. Mgr, Public Affairs & Media Relations, Northern Health
	Haylee Seiter, Communications Advisor, Northern Health
Events Chair	Amy Dhanjal, Communications Coordinator, Prince George Public Library
Education Chair	Chandra Matlock, Digital Communications Coordinator, City of Prince George

\* As per our bylaws, Matt Wood will remain on the CPRSNL Board as Past President.

Congratulations and thank you to all current and past board members!

## Motion by Kevin Brown to accept election results, seconded by Simone BlaisCARRIEDMotion by Eryn Collins to destroy ballots, seconded by Christina DollCARRIED

### 7. New Business – N/A

\_

8. Adjournment - At 5:06pm, the business portion of the AGM was concluded. Motion to adjourn by Renee McCloskey, seconded by Christina Doll. CARRIED